RISING MOON | What the planets in Astrology mean...

April 09, 2021 3 min read

As we’ve released our Zodiac Sign Collection (have you checked out the Minis versions too?!), we’ve been loving learning more about astrology and what it can teach us. Each of us have a unique birth chart, with planets being in a different sign according to when and where we were born. This chart shows us who we are, our personality and different aspects of ourselves according to which sign the planets were in at that moment. That’s also why you may not relate to your Sun Sign: if you’re a Capricorn Sun but have 5 other planets in Libra, you’ll relate to the latter most. Let’s learn a bit more about what each planet means for us:


TheSun in astrology symbolizes the basic personality and the self. The sun sign of gives us the basic understanding of how a person makes their choices, why they do what they do. In summary, it symbolizes our ego, basic personality, our consciousness, vitality and stamina. That is why it’s usually the only Sign we know!


The Moonrepresents the general depiction of ones feelings, what their instincts drive them to, and what moods are most common. It transits in between signs every 2 to 3 days so it changes a lot between people! On contrary to the Sun, it represents our unconsciousness, emotions, instincts, those gut feelings you get, and your moods.


The planetMercury symbolizes reason - and also shows us how a person communicates, and the general structure of their thoughts and how they learn and absorb information. This planet is all about communication, intellect, language, reason, intelligence.It has power over our written and spoken words and our curiosity.Mercury also governs the nervous system, transportation, and the ability to analyze. 


Now theplanet Venus symbolizes our concepts of beauty, pleasure, and sociability. Someone’s Venus sign shows us how what it is they find pleasurable and beautiful, and what they are attracted to, as well as their style of love. Venus also rules over the kinds of things we spend money on, what we consider beautiful, the arts, good food, and creature comforts.


As for Mars, it is all about conflict and aggression. Mars is the heated passion behind our actions, and shifts into a new sign every six to seven weeks, changing the way we take initiative. It’s the part of us that is still animalistic - our aggression, our sense of competition, and drive. According to your sign, it definitely changes a lot about your core reactions!


Jupiter is the planet of expansion, foreign travel, and the search for meaning and truth. It represents philosophy, religion, metaphysics, and education. It represents our sense of optimism, of hope and growth. It shows us how a person finds happiness and purpose, as well as where in life they might be most lucky!


Saturn is the planet of restriction - of reality - where we begin to see our limitations. This planet tells us about a person’s obstacles, but also where and how they can be disciplined, and where their greater responsibilities lie. Saturn is the laws, boundaries, and limits set by society. It shapes our sense of personal duty during times of hardship. It moves into a new sign every two to three years, taking its sweet time with each sign to teach its hard-fought lessons!

In the meantime, Uranus is the planet of sudden inspiration and change, of eccentricity and openness. In one’s natal chart, Uranus shows us where in life they may experience these kinds of sudden changes. It’s super interesting to look more into that to see where in life you might be more inclined to change and new projects. Also, it takes a full seven years to move from one sign into another, defining the ideas of entire generations of people each time it moves into a new sign!


Speaking of generations, Neptune is the planet that governs the urge to dissolve the ego, to become one with others, and to enter into altered states of being. Neptune rules our dreams and ideals; it represents things that aren't quite as they appear, the illusive, and the unreal. It is the planet of receptivity, imagination, cloudiness, confusion, delusion, illusion, and unreality.


Finally, Pluto is the planet that governs death and rebirth. This powerful planet tears things down to build them back up. Pluto will transform the areas of your life that need to undergo regeneration, whether you asked for it or not. Every time you experience dramatic crises or have to endure terrible suffering for the purpose of healing, it can be linked to Pluto's movement through your chart !


Now that you know a little more about each planet, you can look at your birth chart and understand what each of your Signs mean! Let us know how it goes x

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in Blog


October 18, 2021 1 min read

Organic Plant Dyes

You hear us talking about our 'Plant Dyed Apparel' but what does that actually mean and how on earth does one dye clothing with plants you ask!? I know, it's a buzzy concept and one that I too couldn't quite believe when I first heard about it either. But guess what? This is where it all started! Plants are where the original colours started... and we are here to bring it back - no chemicals added!

Read More
Easy (& Tasty) Lemon + Tomato Pasta

October 18, 2021 2 min read

Lemon Tomato Pasta

My Mother in law first made this for me many moons ago and it was instant love at first bite! Tangy yet fresh, more-ish yet healthy. This lemon tomato pasta has all the ingredients to warrant being on the weekly meal schedule without too much hassle. Hey, it's even good enough to wow your pals for dinner on Friday night! Serve it up with a fresh garden salad or opt for a carbo load with some toasted ciabatta with fresh garlic butter? Mmmm hmmm. If this doesn't have you hungry for dinner... I'm not sure we can be friends. Bon Appetit friends x 

Read More
Healthy Lemon Bliss Balls

October 12, 2021 2 min read

Lemon Coconut Bliss Balls

As you know... We've got lemon's on our mind! On our search this week we stumbled upon these healthy, sweet little morsels and couldn't help but share them with you. Sweet yet tangy, and oh so healthy, these lemon bliss balls are a simple and nutritious treat designed to get you through a busy day. The best part? They’re made using only 7 ingredients and are vegan, gluten free, and refined sugar free . With all that in mind, what are you waiting for? Get the blender ready & it's time to whizz up these Lemon-y treats!

Read More